awards and recognition

The Alvin L. Sussman Award

Until 2019, the Alvin L. Sussman Award was PMA’s highest honor. The award recognized a property manager who has made an outstanding advancement in the property management profession. In addition to the award, PMA donated $500 in the winner’s name to his or her favorite charity. Award criteria included:

  • enhancing relations between management and residents,
  • advancing the profession by instituting a major improvement in operations,
  • achieving a noteworthy accomplishment resulting in favorable public notice that brings acclaim to the profession, receiving public recognition for a deed or accomplishment that may not pertain to property management but reflects favorably on the individual as a property manager,
  • accomplishing a special achievement in the public sector.

Alvin L. Sussman Award Winners

2018 Kathy Masterson
2017 Scott Jones
2016 Louis Kovalsky
2015 Tom Rucker
2014 Conrad Cafrtiz
2013 David Newcome
2012 Margaret P. Bessette
2011 Connie Patterson-Norris
2010 Arnold Polinger
2009 Julie Smith
2008 Bill Geoffrion
2007 W. Christopher Smith
2006 Dick Knapp
2005 Dave Thomas
2004 Beth Ross
2003 Thomas S. Bozzuto
2002 Gary L. Campbell
2001 Ronald E. Frank
2000 David Taylor
1999 John Potvin
1998 Byron L. Christenson
1997 Marilyn K. Feucht
1996 Richard J. Leeds
1995 William O. West
1994 David H. Hillman
1993 H. James Kostyk
1992 Elliot Bernold
1991 Larry D. Palmer
1990 Stanley F. Reid
1989 L. Peyton Harris, Jr.
1988 Walter R. Donaldson
1987 H. Jace Greene, III
1986 Anthony E. Ciuca
1985 Joseph C. Murray
1984 Robert O. Boulter
1983 John N. Gallagher
1982 H. R. Crawford
1981 John B. Murgolo
2018 Winner Kathy Masterson
2018 Winner Kathy Masterson